MINUTES TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY & BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING DECEMBER 1, 2008

An oath of ceremony for newly elected officials was held on Monday, December 1, 2008 at 9:00 a.m. in the large courtroom of the Transylvania County Courthouse.

The Honorable Sheriff David A. Mahoney called the ceremony to order. Following the call to order, oaths of office (attachments as part of the Minutes) were administered for the elected officials as listed below:

OATH OF OFFICE - REGISTER OF DEEDS AND STAFF

The Honorable Judge David K. Fox administered the oath of office to Cindy Ownbey, Register of Deeds, to Assistant Register of Deeds Beth Sales, and to deputies D'Ree McCall, Teresa Morton and Karin Smith.

OATH OF OFFICE – SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

Scott Galloway was sworn in as the Soil and Water District Supervisor by the Honorable Judge David K. Fox.

OATH OF OFFICE – COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The oath of office was administered to Commissioners Jason Chappell, Mike Hawkins and Kelvin Phillips by the Honorable Judge David K. Fox.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Following the oath of office ceremony, Trisha McLeod, Clerk to the Board, convened the Board of Commissioners. Present were Commissioners Lynn Bullock, Jason Chappell, Mike Hawkins, Daryle Hogsed and Kelvin Phillips.

The clerk called for nominations for Chairman.

Commissioner Phillips nominated and moved to appoint Commissioner Chappell to serve another term as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners, seconded by Commissioner Bullock. There were no other nominations presented, and Commissioner Chappell was elected Chairman by a vote of 4 to 1, with Commissioner Hogsed voting no.

The clerk turned the meeting over to Chairman Chappell, who called for nominations for Vice-Chairman.

Chairman Chappell nominated and moved to appoint Commissioner Phillips to serve another term as Vice-Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Bullock. There were no other nominations presented, and Commissioner Phillips was elected as Vice-Chairman by a vote of 4 to 1, with Commissioner Hogsed voting no.

INSPECTION AND APPROVAL OF OFFICIAL BONDS

Attorney David Neumann stated that he has inspected the officials bonds for the Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Tax Collector, Finance Director and County Manager and they are all in order.

Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the official bonds, seconded by Commissioner Phillips and unanimously carried.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNTY ATTORNEY

Chairman Chappell called for nominations for County Attorney.

Chairman Chappell nominated and moved to appoint David C. Neumann to serve as County Attorney, seconded by Commissioner Phillips. There were no other nominations presented, and the vote was unanimously carried.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, **Commissioner Bullock moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Phillips and unanimously carried.**

The meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones closed the ceremony.

Jason R. Chappell, Chairman Board of County Commissioners

ATTEST:

Trisha D. McLeod Clerk to the Board