MINUTES TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY & BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING DECEMBER 6, 2010

An oath of office ceremony for newly elected officials was held on Monday, December 6, 2010 at 8:30 a.m. in the large courtroom of the Transylvania County Courthouse.

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones called the ceremony to order. Following the call to order, oaths of office were administered for the elected officials as listed below:

OATH OF OFFICE – CLERK OF SUPERIOR COURT, ASSISTANT CLERKS, and DEPUTY CLERKS

The Honorable Judge David K. Fox administered the oath of office to Rita Ashe, Clerk of Superior Court, to Assistant Clerks Kristi Brown and Lynn Rathbone, and to Deputy Clerks Denise Austin, Pamela Hall, Rebecca Hall, Marsha Henderson, Shirley Meece, Theresa Newman, Alicia Phillips, and Barbara Powell.

OATH OF OFFICE - SHERIFF, DEPUTIES, JAILERS, AND TELE-COMMUNICATORS

The Honorable Judge David K. Fox administered the oath of office to Sheriff David A. Mahoney and to all deputies, jailers, and tele-communicators.

OATH OF OFFICE - SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

The Honorable Judge David K. Fox administered the oath of office to Michael Whitmire (elected). Charles Bryson (elected) and Alan Johnson (appointed) were absent and will be sworn in at a later date.

OATH OF OFFICE – COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The oath of office was administered to Commissioners Larry Chapman and Daryle Hogsed by the Honorable Judge David K. Fox.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Following the oath of office ceremony, Trisha Hogan, Clerk to the Board, convened the Board of Commissioners. Present were Larry Chapman, Jason Chappell, Daryle Hogsed, Mike Hawkins, and Kelvin Phillips.

The Clerk called for nominations for Chairman.

Commissioner Chappell nominated Commissioner Hawkins to serve as Chairman. Commissioner Hogsed seconded the motion. Commissioner Hawkins was elected Chairman by a unanimous vote.

The clerk turned the meeting over to the Chairman, who called for nominations for Vice-Chairman.

Commissioner Chappell nominated Commissioner Phillips to serve as Vice- Chairman. Commissioner Hogsed seconded the motion. Commissioner Phillips was reelected Vice-Chairman by a unanimous vote.

INSPECTION AND APPROVAL OF OFFICIAL BONDS

Attorney David Neumann inspected the official bonds for the Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Tax Administrator, Finance Director and County Manager and reported they are in order.

Commissioner Hogsed moved to approve the official bonds as submitted for the Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Tax Administrator, Finance Director and County Manager. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Phillips and unanimously carried.

<u>APPOINTMENT OF COUNTY ATTORNEY</u> Chairman Hawkins called for nominations for County Attorney.

Commissioner Phillips nominated and moved to appoint David C. Neumann of Neumann & Associates Law Firm to serve as County Attorney, seconded by Commissioner Chappell and unanimously approved.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, **Commissioner Hogsed moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Phillips and unanimously carried.**

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

<u>CLOSING</u>

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones closed the ceremony.

Mike Hawkins, Chairman Transylvania County Board of Commissioners

ATTEST:

Trisha M. Hogan Clerk to the Board