MINUTES OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY

&

TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

December 3, 2012

An oath of office ceremony for newly elected officials was held on Monday, December 3, 2012 at 8:30 a.m. in the large courtroom of the Transylvania County Courthouse. There were approximately 40 people in attendance, including media representation from *The Transylvania Times*.

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones called the ceremony to order at 8:30 a.m. Following the call to order, oaths of office were administered for the elected officials as listed below:

OATH OF OFFICE - REGISTER OF DEEDS and STAFF

The Honorable Judge Thomas McAvoy Brittain, Jr. administered the oath of office to Register of Deeds Cindy Ownbey, Assistant Register of Deeds Beth Landreth, and Deputies D'Ree McCall, Beverly McJunkin and Karin Smith.

OATH OF OFFICE - SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

Scott Galloway (elected) and Dick Bragg (appointed) were sworn in as the Soil and Water District Supervisors by the Honorable Judge Thomas McAvoy Brittain, Jr.

OATH OF OFFICE – COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The oath of office was administered to Commissioners Jason Chappell, Mike Hawkins and Page Lemel by the Honorable Judge Thomas McAvoy Brittain, Jr.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Following the oath of office ceremony, Trisha Hogan, Clerk to the Board, convened the Board of Commissioners. Present were Commissioners Larry Chapman, Jason Chappell, Mike Hawkins, Daryle Hogsed and Page Lemel, and County Attorney David Neumann.

Nomination and Election of Chairman

The Clerk called for nominations for chairman.

Commissioner Chapman nominated and moved to elect Commissioner Mike Hawkins as chairman. Commissioner Lemel seconded the motion. Commissioner Hawkins was elected chairman by a vote of 4 to 1, with Commissioner Hogsed voting against.

Nomination and Election of Vice-Chairman

The clerk turned the meeting over to Chairman Hawkins, who called for nominations for vice-chairman.

Commissioner Hogsed nominated and moved to elect Commissioner Larry Chapman as vice-chairman. Commissioner Lemel seconded the motion. Commissioner Chapman was elected as vice-chairman by a unanimous vote.

<u>Inspection and Approval of Official Bonds for County Manager, Finance Officer, Register of Deeds, Sheriff, Tax Administrator</u>

County Attorney David Neumann stated that he has inspected the official bonds for the County Manager, Finance Officer, Register of Deeds, Sheriff and Tax Administrator and they are all in order.

Commissioner Chappell moved to approve the official bonds for the County Manager, Finance Officer, Register of Deeds, Sheriff and Tax Administrator, seconded by Commissioner Hogsed and unanimously approved.

Appointment of County Attorney

David Neumann has given notice that he will no longer serve as the County Attorney but has agreed to stay on as the County Attorney in a temporary status while the Board of Commissioners searches for his replacement.

Commissioner Chapman moved to retain David Neumann as the County Attorney on an interim basis while Commissioners review other applicants for this position. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hogsed and unanimously approved.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Board, Commissioner Lemel moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Chappell and unanimously carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:50 a.m.	
The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones closed the cere	emony.
	ike Hawkins, Chair ansylvania County Board of Commissioners

ATTES	ST:			
	M. Hogan,	Clerk to th	ne Board	