Marriage Licenses are issued between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday. Allow at least 20 to 30 minutes to process.
You may obtain a marriage license in any county in the state and get married in any county, but the license MUST be returned to the county of issuance.
There is no waiting period, you may be married immediately or within 60 days from the date the marriage license is issued.
For your convenience, you may complete the Online Marriage Application. The application can also be completed upon arrival at the Register of Deeds office.
Both applicants should be present and provide the identification listed below:
- Valid picture ID*
- Social Security card – If an individual has not been assigned a social security number, an affidavit must be completed.
- Divorced applicants MUST present a copy of their final divorce decree.
- Applicants UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE must provide a certified copy of their birth certificates.
- Applicants 16 or 17 years of age must present certified copy of their birth certificate AND custodial parent be present with written parental consent.
- If you are unable to provide your actual Social Security Card, we will need to see something with your name and full 9 digit Social Security Number, such as a W2, tax form, etc.
- Once the ceremony is performed, the completed license must be returned to the Register of Deeds Office within 10 days. A certificate of marriage can then be issued.
Fee for license is $60.00. Cash, Money order, Check, Debit and Credit cards are accepted. If you use a card it will charge a 3% convenience fee.
Is a marriage license required to get married?
Yes, according to the general statues of North Carolina, you must purchase a marriage license before your ceremony to get married in North Carolina.
NCGS § 51-6 states: No minister, officer, or any other person authorized to solemnize a marriage under the laws of this State shall perform a ceremony of marriage [...] until there is delivered to that person a license for the marriage of the said persons, signed by the register of deeds of the county in which the marriage license was issued or by a lawful deputy or assistant. There must be at least two witnesses to the marriage ceremony.
Once I have a marriage license, who can I contact to be married in a civil ceremony?
Once you obtain a marriage license, marriages can be performed by a civil magistrate. ** If you would like the Magistrate's Office to perform your marriage ceremony, please call their office at 828-884-3154 to schedule an appointment. You will need to bring two witnesses with you and the ceremony and the cost is $20.00.
How do I change my name after marriage?
First, please obtain a certified copy of your marriage license from our office. You must then present this document along with other required documentation to the Social Security Administration. Once you have applied for a social security card in your new name, you may visit the Department of Motor Vehicles to update your driver license.
Social Security Administration DMV — Driver License Office
205 S. Grove St 50 Commerce St
Hendersonville, NC 28792 Brevard, NC 28712